Ping G20 Driver Review

Add your review
8.8
Expert ScoreRead review

You really can’t go wrong with the Ping name. So, if you are looking for a great club without any frills or a fancy design that can just get the job done, then this “game improvement driver” is the club for you.

$125.00

Best deal at: rockbottomgolf.comRock Bottom Golf
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Pre-Owned Ping Golf G20 Driver Graphite MRH 9.5* Stiff Driver [Ping Tfc 169 Graphite] *Value* - $125.00
Last Amazon price update was: May 26, 2020 6:47 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Last updated on January 12, 2020 3:39 pm

Description

The Ping G20 is one of the most forgiving and consistent drivers on the market, so if you want to drive the ball further down the fairway this could be the driver for you. Now Ping is known for some the most well engineered and highest performing clubs on the market. With an aerodynamic Titanium face and external weight placement in the sole, this driver is specially designed for the average golfer looking to improve their performance on the links.

Key Features

  • Some of the best golfers in the world are using the Ping G20. Initially making its public debut in 2012, pros such as Lee Westwood, Kirk Triplett and D.J. Bringman have used the Ping G20 in PGA Tournaments. Most famously Bubba Watson won the 2012 Masters using a Pink G20 Driver.  
  • The Ping G20 has external weighting which helps to launch the ball high with very low spin. This is due to the external weight placement in the sole that lowers the center of gravity significantly, thus allowing for the golfer to swing a heavier clubhead at the same MOI.  
  • The 460cc clubhead is designed to cut through the air with very little resistance which helps to increase the swing speed significantly.
Where to Buy
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Pre-Owned Ping Golf G20 Driver Graphite MRH 9.5* Stiff Driver [Ping Tfc 169 Graphite] *Value* - $125.00
Last Amazon price update was: May 26, 2020 6:47 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Ping G20 Driver Detailed Review

Design and Technology

The G20 has been designed to give a player the two things most desired in a driver: high launch and low spin. If a golfer is able to maximize these things, then they will be sure to find themselves having greater distance off of the tee. This breakthrough is accomplished by the optimization of the center of gravity by use of an external weight. Additionally, the G20’s large multi-thickness face produces greater ball speed and an increase in MOI allowing for greater forgiveness.

Ping-g20a

The biggest question I had going into this review was what PING plugged with this driver: high launching with low spin. I usually hit the ball a bit too low, and thought that my spin rate was fine. But after hitting the G20 at the driving range, I found that the ball took off much higher, and dropped ever so slightly. My other concern was that due to the launch characteristics, I was afraid I would lose some of my accuracy. However, I realized that my concerns were unfounded, and my accuracy stayed the same as when I hit my normal driver. If I had one knock on the G20 it is that I didn’t get the normal feedback as I have with other drivers in the past.

8.8Expert Score
Ping G20 Driver Review
Ping G20 Driver

You really can’t go wrong with the Ping name. So, if you are looking for a great club without any frills or a fancy design that can just get the job done, then this “game improvement driver” is the club for you.

Build Quality
9
Control and Performance
9.5
Design and Appearance
8
PROS
  • Power is distributed across the entire face
  • Club face give a high launch angle for greater distance.
  • Very forgiving design that provides better control
CONS
  • Design is uninspiring and a little dated
  • Suitable for golfers with high swing speed
  • No adjustability as with other Drivers

Specs

There is quite a variety of lofts you can get with the G20. The lofts include 8.5, 9.5, 10.5 and 12 degrees. Surprisingly all of the head weight the same at 204g and have a swing weight of D3. PING only gives you two standard options on the shafts, the PING TFC 169D and the Tour version of the shaft. The tour versions have a bit less rotation and a little extra weight. I went with PING TFC 169D shaft for this review and found it just about perfect for my swing speed.

Conclusion

As you can probably guess, I think the G20 is great. I haven’t taken it out of my bag since I purchased it, and it is becoming a contender for a full time spot in my bag. To be honest, this is the first PING driver that has lasted more than a couple of months, and it is definitely work trying. It’s exactly as advertised and will give you a bit higher launch angle with too much spin. There are many drivers to choose from in the Ping line, and the g20 is a moderately priced “game improvement” driver that will give you the power and forgiveness you need to better your game.

Ping G20 Driver Video Review

How Does the Ping G20 Driver Compare?

Cobra F8 Driver

The Cobra F8 Driver is by far one of the hottest drivers of 2018. The F8 Driver features Cobra’s first ever Precision Milled Forged face that provides the ultimate in driving performance. Cobra discovered that by milling the club face it helps to prevent thickness inconsistencies and curvatures that are found when clubs are hand polished. Additionally, by milling the club face it helps to create greater accuracy and ball speeds even on mishits. The Cobra F8 Driver is an outstanding club that is perfect for players who want more speed, forgiveness, distance, and adjustability. The Cobra F8 Driver is the perfect club for a mid to high handicap player wanting to take their game to the next level.

9.2/10 Read review
92 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: HISTAR Golf Weights for Cobra King F8 Driver Head Fairway Weight (9g/11g/13g/15g) - $39.99
Last Amazon price update was: May 25, 2020 2:53 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

TaylorMade Rocketballz RBZ Driver

The TaylorMade Rocketballz Stage 2 Driver builds on the success of its predecessor, and is now longer and faster than the original Rocketballz Driver. The new Thick-Thin crown pushes the CG forward producing a higher launch, lower spin and faster ball speed. The RocketBallz RBZ Stage 2 Bonded Driver has an expanded clubface and improved aerodynamics reduces drag and promotes faster clubhead speed. With more modern design, and priced similarly to the G20 it might be worth trying if you are more of a TaylorMade fan.

9.2/10 Read review
92 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Pre-Owned Taylormade Rocketballz Bonded Driver Graphite LRH HL Ladies Driver [Taylormade Stock Graphite] *Very Good* - $65.00
Last Amazon price update was: May 25, 2020 10:26 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

GX7 Golf Club

The GX7 Golf Club is amazing little club, even though it is “As Seen on TV”. We all know that the hardest part of golf is being consistent, especially when we are hitting off of the tee box. That is why the pros are the pros, and we are amateurs. But have you ever wondered if the reason why you are not consistent when hitting off the tee box is because you are using the same golf club that the pros use, and not a golf club made for amateurs. Well this is the exact theory behind the GX7 Golf Club. A golf club made for amateurs that provides the hitting consistency of a pro. So if you can get over the fact that the GX7 is a “As Seen on TV” Golf Club, you might be amazed by what this little club can do. The GX7 Golf Club is a great driver for a high handicap golfer looking to improve their game both on and off the tee box. 

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: 14° GX-7 “X-Metal” – Driver Distance, Fairway Wood Accuracy – Mens & Womens Models – Includes Head Cover – Long, Accurate Tee Shots – Legal for Tournament Play … - $199.00
Last Amazon price update was: May 25, 2020 8:35 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Paul Liberatore

Founder, Publisher of Golfers Authority

 

Additional information

Specification: Ping G20 Driver Review

Binding

Package Quantity

1

UPC

852663319681

Title

PING G20 Driver 460cc Headcover G-20

Studio

PING

Publisher

PING

Product Type Name

SPORTING_GOODS

Product Group

Apparel

Part Number

Does Not Apply

Package Dimensions

Height: 390, Length: 610, Weight: 10, Width: 550

Brand

MPN

Does Not Apply

Model

G20

Manufacturer

PING

Label

PING

Item Dimensions

Height: 390, Length: 610, Width: 550

EAN List

EAN List Element: 0852663319681

EAN

0852663319681

Department

mens

UPC List

UPC List Element: 852663319681

Ping G20 Driver Review Videos

Price History

-

Reviews (0)

Subscribe
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Golfers Authority
Register New Account
Reset Password