Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Review

$199.99

Last updated on February 26, 2024 10:12 pm

Check Out Our Exclusive Offers

This shaft is a game-changer, designed to optimize your swing speed and ball flight. It’s crafted with the preferences of skilled golfers in mind, providing unmatched stability, feel, and control. The Tour AD TP Shaft sets itself apart from the competition by delivering superior performance attributes that will have you dominating the course. With the Tour AD TP Shaft, you’ll experience a level of stability that sets the bar high for performance.

Paul Liberatore Paul Liberatore
February 8, 2024
Add your review
You will get: Mid to high launch and low spin can create long drive or perfect fairway ball flights Fast Taper Technology gives golfers a one-of-a-kind feeling and clubhead control Premium material ensure that every shaft created is built to the tightest tolerances

Updated February 2024 to update current pricing information.

The Tour AD TP, “Tour Proven,” shaft is a subtler design from Graphite Design. This shaft is perfect for the golfer looking for a smooth feel, a mid to high launch and low spin. A company made famous by putting the orange AD DI shaft in the driver of Tiger Woods, Graphite Design makes a home in many elite golfer’s metal woods. Built with the same signature rings common of all Graphite Design shafts, the AD TP is distinguished by it’s gold and grey colorway. The AD TP can help any golfers game by complimenting fairway woods that need to be versatile from the tee box and the ground or giving them longer drives from higher launches and less spin.

No products found.

Key Features

  • The Tour AD TP shaft is made in Japan from ultra-high-end materials. FTT, fast taper technology, aerospace grade 50-ton carbon-fiber, TORAYCA® T1100G pre-preg, and Material Stiffness Integration (MSI) offers golfers premium feel and tour validated performance.

  • Golfers looking for mid-high launch and low spin will love the AD TP shaft. Graphite Design uses shaft profiling strengths to help golfers choose shafts that match their swings. The AD TP shaft has a stiff Tip-section, firm Mid-section, and firm Butt-section.

  • Robot testing concluded that the Tour AD TP improves upon previous Graphite Design models and gives golfers over 3 yards of carrying distance.
Where to Buy
Last Amazon price update was: February 26, 2024 8:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Graphite Design Tour AD TP Detailed Review

Design and Technology

The Tour AD TP shaft is a standout shaft for lower lofted fairway metals and drivers. Graphite Design uses their Fast Taper Technology, FTT, to create a shaft that offers an overall feeling of total club head control and increased club head speeds. T1100 fiber is used among shaft manufacturers to help increase tip stability and give high swing speed players more control over their impacts. Graphite Design’s incorporation of their TORATCA® pre-preg with NANOALLOY® creates additional stability when striking the golf ball.

I have used the Graphite Design Tour AD TP in my 3 wood for the last two consecutive seasons, and have been playing Graphite Design shafts for over five years now. The AD TP has been an absolutely perfect fit for my 3 wood. This shaft has increased my ball speeds and made my 3 wood more versatile from the tee and from the turf. In my 3 wood, I prefer a shaft that is smooth to swing and helps me hit low spinning tee shots yet high launching shots from the fairways and rough. The AD TP shaft checks all of those boxes. It has made my 3 wood long off the tee, but capable of launching high approaches into greens that stop quickly. Playing for a position from the tee and taking advantage of par-5s is easier thanks to this shaft. I have never been more confident with a shaft that feels so good.

9.2Expert Score
Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Review
Graphite Design AD TP Shaft

This shaft is a game-changer, designed to optimize your swing speed and ball flight. It's crafted with the preferences of skilled golfers in mind, providing unmatched stability, feel, and control. The Tour AD TP Shaft sets itself apart from the competition by delivering superior performance attributes that will have you dominating the course. With the Tour AD TP Shaft, you'll experience a level of stability that sets the bar high for performance.

Build Quality
9
Control and Performance
9.5
Design and Appearance
9
PROS
  • Mid to high launch and low spin can create long drive or perfect fairway ball flights
  • Fast Taper Technology gives golfers a one-of-a-kind feeling and clubhead control
  • Premium material ensure that every shaft created is built to the tightest tolerances
CONS
  • Premium material come at a price, the Tour AD TP shaft MSRP is around $380
  • Some players may feel distracted when looking down at a grey shaft in their woods
  • Lack of availability to test in demo clubs as local pro shops and retail golf stores
Graphite-design-ad-tp-shaft2-1

Specs

The Tour AD TP shaft is made for all metal woods and is available in weights of 40, 50, 60, 70, and 80 grams. The 40 g and 50 g options are available in regular and stiff flexes, the 60 g and 70 g shafts are available in senior, stiff, extra stiff, and tour-extra-stiff options and the 80 g shaft is available in stiff and extra stiff options only.

After testing several drivers and fairway wood shafts, I put the Tour AD TP shaft in my bag. Currently, I play the Callaway Epic fairway wood in 15 degrees at the standard hosel settings. My shaft of choice is the Graphite Design Tour AD TP 80g X-flex played at 43 inches with a D4 swing weight. All of my clubs are gripped with the Golf Pride Tour Velvet standard.

Conclusion

The Graphite Design Tour AD TP shaft is the best fairway wood shaft I have ever played. My overall confidence and performance with my 3 wood have improved thanks to the performance of this shaft. Offered in a variety of weights and flexes, players looking for a mid to high launching, low spin driver or fairway shaft should consider the AD TP from Graphite Design.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I Request a Different Grip or Customized Length for the Shaft?

Yes, you can request a different grip or customized length for the shaft. Just let us know your preferences during checkout, and we’ll gladly tailor the shaft to your needs. Your satisfaction is guaranteed!

Is the Wrench Included With the Purchase of the Shaft?

Yeah, the wrench is not included with the purchase of the shaft. However, you can request different grip or customized length options when checking out. Just send us a message and we’ll be glad to help.

How Can I Provide Feedback if I Found a Lower Price for the Product?

I can provide feedback on a lower price by signing in and submitting it. The company may not match every price, but they aim for competitive prices. Customer satisfaction and price matching are important to them.

Are There Any Additional Shaft Weights Available for This Product?

Yes, there are additional shaft weights available for this product. You can also customize options like grip and length. Just send a message when checking out. All workmanship is guaranteed.

Can I Choose a Different Driver Adapter for the Shaft, or Is It Only Available With the Specified Options?

Yes, you can choose a different driver adapter for the shaft, allowing for custom adapter selection and shaft customization. This ensures the perfect fit for your driver head, providing a personalized experience.

How Does the Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Compare?

Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro Orange

The Tensei CK Pro Orange is another low launch, low spin shaft that offers stronger players more stability and control. One of the most popular shafts currently on golfing tours, the Tensei Pro Orange is a must try for players looking for high performance golf shafts. The CK Pro Orange uses carbon fiber DuPont Kevlar, MR70, low resin content, and tungsten power to deliver an ultra-tip stiff design made for golfers looking for maximum performance. Tungsten powder allows Mitsubishi to elevate the balance point of the shaft near the butt section to promote increased swing speeds with a counter-balanced feel. Tensei Pro Orange is a must try for players looking to add a high end shaft to their favorite driver.

9.2/10 Read review
Last Amazon price update was: February 26, 2024 6:55 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Aldila Rogue Silver 130 MSI

The Rogue Silver 130 MSI builds on Aldila’s massive success of the Limited Edition Rogue 125 MSI golf shaft. The Rogue 125 MSI shaft was a release that found its way into many elite golfer’s bags even at an unforeseen price tag. The all-new Rogue Silver 130 MSI combines DIALEAD pitch fiber and NexGen Micro Laminate Technology to give players a higher balance point in a shaft that promotes low launch and low spin. Higher balance points give golfers a chance to increase clubhead speeds and improve driving distance through better timing and club head delivery. Aldila integrates aerospace grade materials to deliver their most complete golf shaft ever in the Rogue Silver 130 MSI.

Project X HZRDUS Yellow

The HZRDUS Yellow is the low launch, low spin shaft made to compliment the HZRDUS Black and HZRDUS Red golf shafts. HZRDUS Yellow is a backweighted golf shaft designed for the strong but smooth golfer. Players looking to reduce spin and launch with a smooth tempo will love the performance and feel of the HZRDUS Yellow shaft. High-performance materials and a tapered mid-section allow the HZRDUS Yellow to load effortlessly yet remain stable. High swing speed players with an even transition will love the HZRDUS Yellow shaft.

9.2/10 Read review
Last Amazon price update was: February 26, 2024 4:36 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
$379.00
February 26, 2024 8:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
1 new from $379.00

Videos: Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Review

Paul Liberatore
Paul Liberatore

As the Founder of Golfers Authority Paul Liberatore Esq. has spent the last 7+ years writing about the best golf equipment or instruction from the top golf instructors in the world. He has been a contributing writer for Sports Illustrated Golf and GolfWRX. After graduating with honors from Purdue University, he realized that he had a passion for the golf business and the law. When he's not practicing law, or creating golf content on YouTube, he can be found on his syndicated Behind the Golf Brand podcast both on Apple and Spotify talking with the most prolific leaders in the golf industry. 

Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Review
Graphite Design AD TP Shaft Review

$199.99

footer
Golfers Authority
7650 S. McClintock Drive, Suite 103, #352
Tempe, AZ 85284 USA

Amazon Associates Program We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Golfers Authority
Logo