Callaway Epic Flash Driver Review

$169.99

Last updated on February 13, 2024 8:16 am

Check Out Our Exclusive Offers

The Callaway Epic Flash Driver has certainly lived up to its reputation for exceptional performance and value. This driver stands out from others I’ve used due to its increased distance and adjustability. When it comes to the sound and feel at impact, it’s noticeably different and provides a satisfying and confidence-boosting experience on the course. The purchase experience for the Epic Flash Driver was overall positive, with fast shipping and great value. However, there were some minor issues with the product’s delivery condition, such as receiving a different headcover and the product being delivered upside down. Despite these hiccups, the performance and value of the Epic Flash Driver make it a top contender in the market.

Paul Liberatore Paul Liberatore
February 13, 2024
Add your review
You will get: Epic Flash produced the best ball speeds I have recorded in a driver My favorite look and feel of any Callaway driver I have ever hit Flash Face gave me more forgiveness with my typical low and high strike patterns on the face

Updated February 2024 to update current pricing information.

New for 2019 is the Callaway Epic Flash driver. Callaway has spent over 5 million dollars to produce their most technologically advanced driver yet. Building on the massive success of the Epic range of 2017, the Epic Flash is promising more speed and more forgiveness. Gaining traction in the bags of Callaway’s tour staff, the Epic Flash is already a proven winner.

Epic Flash finished in first place at the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Kapalua in the bag of Xander Schauffele. This club is made for golfers of all skill levels looking to improve their ball speeds and get premium performance from the tee box. This is definetly one of the best callaway drivers ever made, and will be one of the best golf drivers of the year.

Key Features

  • The Epic Flash was created using artificial intelligence to run thousands of impact simulations to create their fastest and most forgiving face ever.  
  • Jailbreak has been modified to stiffen and stabilize the top and bottom of the club face and provide golfers with maximum ball speeds on impact high and low of the sweet spot.  
  • By creating a new T2C triaxial carbon crown Callaway has managed to increase the club’s overall MOI and provide golfers with improved performance from heel and toe strikes.
Where to Buy
Last Amazon price update was: April 20, 2024 9:54 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Callaway Epic Flash Driver Detailed Review

Design and Technology

Golfers have come to expect Callaway to create drivers and metal woods that look and feel great. The Epic Flash is no different. The new carbon crown weave and curved alignment aid helps golfers ensure that their driver’s face is sitting perfectly square behind the golf ball. The standard Epic Flash provides a confidence inspiring look in a package that even better players will love.

The new Flash Face is molded with ridges and valleys that help golfers maintain their optimal ball speeds across the club face. Jailbreak has been a part of the last two product release cycles and it is continued in the Epic Flash. Jailbreak revolutionized speed when it was introduced in the original Epic drivers in 2017 and this improved mold helps golfers get maximum speed when they strike the golf ball low and high in the club face.

During my fitting, I was most impressed with the exceptional ball speeds and forgiveness of this driver. My typical miss with the driver is low in the club face. Jailbreak has always impressed me with its’ ability to maintain my ball speeds when I don’t hit the driver perfectly in the middle. The Epic Flash is my favorite driver from Callaway that I have ever hit. It is the only driver that I have had in my hands that has given me pause to replace my current gamer. I was so impressed in fact, that I will be getting the Flash for my on-course testing to see if it can replace my G400 Max. If not for my comfort and familiarity with my G400, there is no doubt the Epic Flash would be going in my bag for this season.

I was fit into this club in the new Graphite Design Tour AD IZ shaft at 70 grams in the X-stiff version. This combination of driver and shaft is the best feeling driver I have ever hit. I even produced my longest driver ever on a simulator with a carry of 318 yards for a total distance of 342 yards. There is no doubt that the Epic Flash will be a flagship driver for 2019 and if you are in the market for a new weapon off the tee you should be testing Callaway’s new offering.

9.2Expert Score
Callaway Epic Flash Driver Review
Callaway Epic Flash Driver

The Callaway Epic Flash Driver has certainly lived up to its reputation for exceptional performance and value. This driver stands out from others I've used due to its increased distance and adjustability. When it comes to the sound and feel at impact, it's noticeably different and provides a satisfying and confidence-boosting experience on the course. The purchase experience for the Epic Flash Driver was overall positive, with fast shipping and great value. However, there were some minor issues with the product's delivery condition, such as receiving a different headcover and the product being delivered upside down. Despite these hiccups, the performance and value of the Epic Flash Driver make it a top contender in the market.

Build Quality
9
Control and Performance
9.5
Design and Appearance
9
PROS
  • Epic Flash produced the best ball speeds I have recorded in a driver
  • My favorite look and feel of any Callaway driver I have ever hit
  • Flash Face gave me more forgiveness with my typical low and high strike patterns on the face
CONS
  • The price of the new Callaway Epic Flash Driver starts at $529.99
  • The yellow and green colorway is going to put off certain players
  • Players with the Rogue driver may not see enough improvement to warrant the price
Epic Flash

Specs

The Callaway Epic Flash driver is available in two models. The standard Epic is built with weight pulled further back and offers golfers slightly higher spin and more forgiveness. The Epic Flash Sub-Zero pushes more weight forward to drop spin for the player who needs less backspin from the tee.

The standard model Epic Flash driver comes in lofts of 9, 10.5, and 12 degrees. The Callaway Optifit Hosel allows for the loft to be changed -1 degree or +2 degrees and a draw bias setting. The Sub-Zero model comes in lofts of 9 and 10.5 degrees only.

Stock shafts of this club are the Project X EvenFlow Green 55g, Project X HZRDUS Black Smoke 60g, and70g, and the Mitsubishi Chemical Tensei AV Blue 65g and 75g options. Golf Pride’s New Decade Align grips comes in a custom green Epic colorway. The stock length of these drivers is 45.5 inches. These drivers are both available in over 100 custom order configurations and can be fit at all your local pro shops and retail stores.

Conclusion

The Epic Flash family of drivers is without a doubt the best driver offering Callaway has ever produced. Players coming from Epic will notice ball speed increases and better forgiveness. Improved sound and feel from the Flash Face makes the Epic Flash a pleasure to hit. I believe this club will be the stand out driver in this year’s market and I would encourage all of our readers to go give it a try as soon as possible. Golfers can dial in their misses with the sliding track weight making the Epic Flash uniquely suited for almost all kinds of golfers. Players needing extra distance from their driver will benefit from the extra ball speed and precise fitting available in the new Epic Flash.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can the Callaway Epic Flash Driver Be Used by Golfers of All Skill Levels?

I believe the Callaway Epic Flash Driver is suitable for golfers of all skill levels. Its custom fitting benefits ensure improved distance and accuracy. I’ve experienced remarkable performance, and I’m sure others will too.

How Does the Jailbreak Technology Affect the Feel of the Driver Upon Impact?

When I hit the ball, the Jailbreak technology in the Callaway Epic Flash Driver makes the impact feel solid and powerful. It enhances the driver’s performance, catering to golfers of all skill levels.

Are There Any Specific Tips for Adjusting the Perimeter Weighting to Achieve Desired Ball Flight?

Adjusting perimeter weighting on the Callaway Epic Flash Driver allows for precise ball flight control. I’ve found that redistributing weight can help with shot shaping strategies, tailoring my drives for specific course conditions. It’s a game-changer for customizing performance.

What Are Some Unique Features of the Callaway Epic Flash Driver That Set It Apart From Other Drivers on the Market?

The Callaway Epic Flash Driver’s unique design and advanced technology set it apart. The Flash Face technology, crafted by Artificial Intelligence, enhances ball speed and distance, while the Jailbreak and Triaxial Carbon Crown optimize impact load and forgiveness.

How Does the Triaxial Carbon Crown Contribute to Forgiveness on Off-Center Hits?

The triaxial carbon crown in the Callaway Epic Flash Driver contributes to forgiveness on off-center hits by saving weight and improving impact feel. This enhances driver performance, catering to various skill levels and promoting consistent ball flight.

How Does the Epic Flash Driver Compare?

Callaway Epic Flash Sub-Zero Driver

The Callaway Epic Flash Sub-Zero Driver is the lower spinning compliment to the Epic Flash Driver. Made for players who need lower spin from their drivers, the Epic Flash Sub-Zero driver features the same components as the Epic Flash with a forward center of gravity. While the Epic Flash Sub-Zero may offer longer drivers, players will sacrifice some forgiveness when comparing the Epic Flash driver. No matter what your needs are from the tee box, the Epic Flash can help your game.

9.2/10 Read review
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Callaway Fairway Right Hand Adapter: Epic Flash - Swing Science Golf - $34.99
Last Amazon price update was: April 20, 2024 2:13 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Callaway Epic Driver

The Callaway Epic Driver was Callaway’s first driver that incorporated Jailbreak technology. A revolutionary driver at the time, the Epic driver made Callaway the #1 driver in golf. Faster ball speeds and improved forgiveness resulting from the Jailbreak bars that connect the top and bottom of the driver lead to better performance and a new standard for equipment manufacturers. The Epic driver is still a top contender in local golf shops.

9.1/10 Read review
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Callaway Epic Flash Driver - $195.49
Last Amazon price update was: April 20, 2024 9:53 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Rogue Driver

Callaway builds on the smashing success of the GBB Epic to create an even better driver – the new Rogue Driver. The Rogue was a departure from Callaway’s traditional model in speed. By redesigning Jailbreak and increasing MOI, Callaway built Rogue to be a forgiving complement to the original Epic. Rogue featured an hourglass shape in the bars that connected the two halves of the club head and gave Callaway more weight to move backward in the club head. The result was ball speeds that rivaled the original Epic with more forgiveness. Epic Flash builds on both Epic and Rogue to give golfers the best in innovation and performance.

9.2/10 Read review
Last Amazon price update was: April 20, 2024 2:13 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Videos: Callaway Epic Flash Driver Review

Paul Liberatore
Paul Liberatore

As the Founder of Golfers Authority Paul Liberatore Esq. has spent the last 7+ years writing about the best golf equipment or instruction from the top golf instructors in the world. He has been a contributing writer for Sports Illustrated Golf and GolfWRX. After graduating with honors from Purdue University, he realized that he had a passion for the golf business and the law. When he's not practicing law, or creating golf content on YouTube, he can be found on his syndicated Behind the Golf Brand podcast both on Apple and Spotify talking with the most prolific leaders in the golf industry. 

Callaway Epic Flash Driver Review
Callaway Epic Flash Driver Review

$169.99

footer
Golfers Authority
7650 S. McClintock Drive, Suite 103, #352
Tempe, AZ 85284 USA

Amazon Associates Program We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Golfers Authority
Logo