Project X LZ Iron Shaft Review

Add your review
8.8
Expert ScoreRead review

What we love most about the Project X LZ is its suitability for such a wide range of golfers. Anyone looking for more ball speed and consistent launch from their irons should consider this shaft. Before you buy these shafts though, make sure to go through a proper fitting to find the flex that’s right for your game.

$307.90

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Price history
×
Price history for Project X New LZ Steel Iron Shafts Set (Choose Flex and Quantity) (6PC Set (5-PW), 5.0)
Latest updates:
  • $307.90 - December 31, 2022
  • $307.00 - December 30, 2022
Since: December 30, 2022
  • Highest Price: $307.90 - December 31, 2022
  • Lowest Price: $307.00 - December 30, 2022
Last Amazon price update was: January 23, 2023 6:04 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Project X LZ Iron Shaft Review
Project X LZ Iron Shaft Review

$307.90

Go to ...

If there’s a shaft manufacturer golfers of all abilities have come to trust, it’s True Temper.  While the company makes a variety of high-performing shafts, the Project X family is the most recognizable. 

In this article, we’re going to take an in-depth look at the Project X LZ Iron Shafts.

These steel iron shafts are suitable for a wide variety of golfers, and have proven to be some of the best feeling iron shafts True Temper has ever made.

Let’s dive a little deeper.

Key Features

  • Loading Zone Technology maximizes energy transfer on the downswing for explosive ball speeds.
  • Variable Wall Technology in the butt and tip sections reduces stiffness in the midsection.
  • Plenty of flex options give players plenty of options to choose from.

Who Should Buy the Project X LZ Iron Shafts?

What we love most about the Project X LZ is its suitability for such a wide range of golfers.

Anyone looking for more ball speed and consistent launch from their irons should consider this shaft. 

Before you buy these shafts though, make sure to go through a proper fitting to find the flex that’s right for your game. 

Where to Buy
Price history
×
Price history for Project X New LZ Steel Iron Shafts Set (Choose Flex and Quantity) (6PC Set (5-PW), 5.0)
Latest updates:
  • $307.90 - December 31, 2022
  • $307.00 - December 30, 2022
Since: December 30, 2022
  • Highest Price: $307.90 - December 31, 2022
  • Lowest Price: $307.00 - December 30, 2022
Last Amazon price update was: January 23, 2023 6:04 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Design and Technology

No one utilizes technology in iron shafts better than True Temper. 

In the LZ Shafts, it’s all about Loading Zone Technology.  While iron shafts all work to load power in the backswing and unload it in the downswing, this revolutionary technology has proven to do it better than anything else.  The result is more clubhead and ball speed at impact.

True Temper has mastered the design in this shaft which delivers consistent flight from any lie.  Variable Wall Technology at either end of the shaft is solid and firm.  This allows the shaft’s midsection to be lighter and more flexible.  It’s in this middle part of the shaft where the greatest amount of energy is stored and unloaded on the downswing.

Both these technologies combine to deliver golfers of all abilities fast ball speeds and the stability they need at impact to hit consistent shots.

8.8Expert Score
Project X LZ Iron Shaft Review
Project X LZ Iron Shaft Review

What we love most about the Project X LZ is its suitability for such a wide range of golfers. Anyone looking for more ball speed and consistent launch from their irons should consider this shaft. Before you buy these shafts though, make sure to go through a proper fitting to find the flex that’s right for your game.

Innovation
9
Performance
9
Design/Sound/Feel
9
Value
8
PROS
  • Loading Zone Technology increases energy transfer for faster ball speeds.
  • Variable Wall Technology allows the shaft to store maximum energy in its midsection.
  • Plenty of flex options can fit almost any golfer.
CONS
  • Price point is high than other steel iron shafts.
  • Scheduling a fitting may be difficult based on availability.
  • Installation times can vary depending on demand.
True Temper Project X LZ iron shaft seen at Colonial

Specs

The Project X LZ shafts are available in flexes of 5.0, 5.5, 6.0, and 6.5.  These are the equivalents of senior, regular, stiff, and extra stiff. 

Weight in the 5.0 is 110 grams.  In the 5.5 it’s 115 grams.  The 6.0 weighs 120 grams.  The 6.5 has a weight of 125 grams. 

Finish colors are chrome and blackout.

Our Experience

I’ve long been a fan of Project X Shafts.  I’ve had them in my irons for as long as I can remember.  I recently put the LZ Shafts in my irons and the difference was noticeable.

Not only does the ball seem to come off hotter with these shafts, they feel exceptionally stable through impact too. 

When I went through a fitting, I was surprised to find that the 6.5 flex shafts were best for my game.  While I hit the 6.0s a little farther, my ball flight with the 6.5s was more consistent. 

Again, I can’t emphasize enough how important it is to get fitted before putting these shafts in your irons.

Conclusion

True Temper has long had a reputation as one of the premier shaft makers in the game.  That’s especially true of their Project X Shafts which are employed by everyone from the best players in the world to weekend warriors.

The LZ Iron Shafts are the latest and greatest.  Not only do they outperform their competitors, they’re suitable for all different kinds of golfers.

If you’re looking to get the most out of your irons, and don’t mind spending the money, try the Project X LZ Iron Shafts.  They’re sure to have you hitting your irons further and more consistently.  Just be sure to get fitted before you buy. 

Project X LZ Iron Shaft Video Review

 

Amazon Associates Program We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Subscribe to our list

Don't worry, we don't spam

Golfers Authority
Logo