Cut Golf Balls Review

9
Expert ScoreRead review

Golf is a highly individualized sport. What is best for one person is not always best for another player. We recommend that when you are considering what golf ball to play that you do so with your own testing. Test sleeves like the trial sleeves offered at Cut are a great way to optimize your performance and shoot lower scores more quickly. The Cut Golf Dual Core golf ball is dollar-for-dollar one of the most impressive golf balls we have ever seen and needs to be placed on your list to test regardless of what golf ball you currently play.
 

$19.95

Best deal at: rockbottomgolf.comRock Bottom Golf
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Cut Blue Golf Balls 1-Dozen White - $19.95
Last Amazon price update was: October 26, 2020 8:48 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Add to wishlistAdded to wishlistRemoved from wishlist 0
Last updated on January 11, 2020 8:39 am

Description

 
Cut Golf is using innovative materials and advanced aerodynamics to bring golfers a variety of golf ball technologies well suited for a number of playing styles. In total, Cut is offering seven different golf ball styles and five playing profiles. The most outstanding, the Cut Dual Core, outranks any ball tested at its sub-$30 price point. This guide will take you through each profile and help you find the right Cut golf ball for your game and budget.

Key Features

  • Cut Golf offers Dual Core (DC), Cut Blue, Cut Grey, Cut Matte White, Cut Matte Yellow, Cut Matte Orange, and Cut Matte Pink golf balls in both dozen and trial sleeve options.  
  • The Cut DC is a four-piece tour-level golf ball built to compete with the most premium golf balls in production with a retail value of less than $30.  
  • Cut Blue and Cut Grey have been awarded in back-to-back years and continue to improve with new formulations and advanced dimple patterns. 

Cut Golf Balls Detailed Review

Design and Technology

Dual Core: 4-piece construction, urethane cover and 360 dimple pattern. The Dual Core golf ball features a compression rating of 105 and is available in both white and Atomic Yellow. The Dual Core is Cut’s most advanced golf ball and is made to rival premium golf balls for golfers of all abilities.

Cut Blue: 4-piece construction, urethane cover and 314 dimple pattern. The Cut Blue golf ball features a compression rating of 90 and is available white only. The Cut Blue golf ball has been engineered to provide players a slightly lower launch and ball flight.

Where to Buy
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Cut Blue Golf Balls 1-Dozen White - $19.95
Last Amazon price update was: October 26, 2020 8:48 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Cut Grey: 3-piece construction, urethane cover and 314 dimple pattern. The Grey golf ball features a compression rating of 80 and is available in both white only. Cut Grey has been optimized for moderate swing speeds, driver speeds around 85-90 miles per hour. Similarly awarded, the Cut Grey golf ball offers a softer compression and more help for handicap players.

Cut Matte Line: White, Yellow, Orange, and Pink, the Matte golf balls offer vibrant color options for players seeking a softer golf ball. The Matte line is a 3-piece construction, finished with an ionomer and 314 dimples. Each golf ball within the Matte line features a 65 compression rating and an ultra-soft core.

Our Experience

I would like to start with how impressed I am with the Cut Dual Core. Often when companies claim that they are delivering performance at a value price point I find differences almost immediately. The Dual Core performed as highly as any other golf ball I have ever tried in seemingly every scenario it was placed in. Without doubt, amateur golfers can receive excellent performance and more value from the Cut Dual Core golf ball.

Img 5393

Due to the brilliance of the Dual Core line, I think the Blue and Grey are placed in an odd spot. For golfers that want a bold look the Matte line is perfect, however, the Cut Blue golf ball seems to be outperformed by the Dual Core and the price difference I believe is well worth opting for the $30 Dual Core dozen. Players that demand a softer feel can find it in the Cut Grey, but again I would urge golfers that really want ideal performance to look closely at the Dual Core offering. The Dual Core is rated at 105 compression and yields explosive distance yet still features a pleasantly soft response.

9Expert Score
Cut Golf Balls Review
Cut Golf Balls

Golf is a highly individualized sport. What is best for one person is not always best for another player. We recommend that when you are considering what golf ball to play that you do so with your own testing. Test sleeves like the trial sleeves offered at Cut are a great way to optimize your performance and shoot lower scores more quickly. The Cut Golf Dual Core golf ball is dollar-for-dollar one of the most impressive golf balls we have ever seen and needs to be placed on your list to test regardless of what golf ball you currently play.
 

Effectiveness
9
Technology
9
Cost
9
PROS
  • The Cut Golf Dual Core golf ball performs as well or better than other tour-level golf balls that cost almost twice as much.
  • The Cut Matte line is perfect for golfers who prefer a bold look or need help visualizing their golf ball during play.
  • Trial sleeve offerings are superior to in-house golf ball fitting serves and can allow players to optimize their golf bag setups.
CONS
  • The Cut Blue and Cut Grey golf balls seem to appear obsolete with the introduction of the outstanding Cut Dual Core.
  • Bulk pricing options would be nice and would be a great way for players to stock up for their season and save on bulk deals.
  • While the Cut Matte line provides a bold look, the finish alters certain aerodynamic properties and inconsistencies.
Img 0020

Specs

Each golf ball in Cut’s range is available directly on their website. One of my favorite things about the Cut model is their offering of trial sleeve packs. By allowing players to use each of their golf ball offerings in person and on the course, they can get a better sense about which model is best for their game. All options are sold in dozen packs or trial sleeves. Dozen packs can be customized for an additional fee.

Dual Core golf balls are sold in two colors, white and Atomic yellow, and are available for $29.95 per dozen and $9.95 per trial sleeve (3 golf balls). Cut Blue and Cut Grey are available in white and sell for $19.95 per dozen and $6.50 per trial sleeve. The Cut Matte lineup features White, Yellow, Orange, and Pink and is priced at $19.99 per dozen and $6.50 per trial sleeve.

Conclusion

We have continued to recommend that golfers play the exact same golf ball model for each swing. Changing your golf ball hole after hole leads to more inconsistencies and more difficulty predicting your shot patterns. Budget-conscious golfers than cannot afford to pay $50 per dozen of golf balls now no longer have an excuse thanks to Cut Golf and offer similar pricing models. The best approach to shopping for your golf balls is to try them yourself and the trial sleeve offering from Cut allows you to do just that in your best environment and out on the golf courses you play. Dual Core continues to shine as the best balance of price and performance in our test and we would be remiss to not highly recommend it to golfers of many different skill sets including exceptional players.

Cut Golf Video Review

How Do the Cut Golf Balls?

OnCore ELIXR

The ELIXR is OnCore Golf’s tour-level golf ball offering. It has been awarded by numerous independent sources and tested highly within GolfersAuthority as well. The standout feature of OnCore Golf beyond their performance range is their bulk pricing model that allows players to buy many dozens at once and decrease the cost of their golf balls for an entire season.

9.8/10 Read review
98 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Oncore Elixir Golf Ball - $34.98
Last Amazon price update was: October 25, 2020 12:27 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Snell MTB

The MTB continues to be one of the most celebrated non-traditional golf balls. Both the MTB-X and MTB-Black compete with golf balls at the highest level and are available for a fraction of the cost.

Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Snell MTB Black My Tour Golf Balls, White (One Dozen) - $34.99
Price history
×
Price history for Snell MTB Black My Tour Golf Balls, White (One Dozen)
Latest updates:
  • $34.99 - October 8, 2020
  • $32.99 - October 7, 2020
  • $34.99 - August 28, 2020
  • $34.68 - August 27, 2020
  • $34.99 - August 25, 2020
  • $34.68 - August 25, 2020
  • $34.99 - August 18, 2020
  • $32.99 - August 17, 2020
Since: June 1, 2020
  • Highest Price: $57.92 - June 26, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $32.98 - June 22, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: October 26, 2020 9:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Titleist ProV1

The ProV1 is in many people’s minds the Gold Standard for golf balls. When players opt to put Titleist’s premium golf balls into play, they do so with the utmost confidence that they will get the same performance each swing. Titleist continues to stay on top of the golf ball world dominating in the bags of touring professionals and amateur players.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Titleist Pro V1 Golf Ball - $39.98
Last Amazon price update was: October 26, 2020 6:52 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Damon Burrow

Senior Writer, Head of Product Testing

 

Additional information

Specification: Cut Golf Balls Review

Part Number unknown
Model unknown
Warranty NOT APPLICABLE
Release Date 2018-07-01T00:00:01Z

Cut Golf Balls Review Videos

Price History

-

Reviews (0)

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Golfers Authority
Logo
Register New Account
Reset Password
Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds